Football Betting

FA England Fans Player Of The Year Award 2006

Similar to the competition for this season’s BBC Sports Personality honour, the celebrated FA England Fans Player of the Year award for 2006 is desperate to find a worthy winner. Darren Clarke has fittingly jumped to the top of the betting for the BBC award, but the achievements of the England football team this year leaves much to be desired.

One glance at the names leading the betting stresses the point that a week may be a long time in politics and soccer fans are a fickle group. Peter Crouch is a heavy odds-on favourite at 2/5 after a bonanza that has saw him score eleven goals for the “Three Lions”. Bayern Munich midfielder Owen Hargreaves is the 11/4 second favourite. Both players have seen their odds shorten with good performances while the ostensible big names around them have failed to perform. Both players were greeted with boos from their own fans at some point in their international careers, but it could be those same fans’ votes that determine the winner.

Here’s a look at the potential candidates (Prices taken from SportingOdds Bookie):

Peter Crouch (price 2/5 favourite)
As one reflective commentator once said “it is goals that pay the rent” and the big man’s exploits in front of the net have been one bright spot this term.

Owen Hargreaves (11/4)
The guy down the pub will tell you that he is “always rated that Hargreaves fellow” and he is probably the same bloke that threw a pint glass at the screen when he came on as substitute against Hungary in May.

John Terry (6/1)
Dependable and reliable “JT” does precisely what it says on the tin. But a few slips in concentration that have cost the team goals mean that the new captain is no shoo-in for this award.

Joe Cole (12/1)
With the exception of a serious injury that cost him most of the end of the season, the Chelsea midfielder would have been a lot nearer in the betting. He could still go far based on his most appealing contribution – that wonder goal against the Swedes at the World Cup.

Steven Gerrard (16/1)
His England record is inconsistent this year and shows no relation to his club form, and for this reason I cannot see him claiming this award.

Wayne Rooney (33/1)
At one point a 2/1 favourite in this market, but a lot has changed in “Wayne’s World” since then, and not much of it in front of the goal.

Frank Lampard (33/1)
Lamps has carried the weight of expectation this season and has not delivered. Has won this award for the past two years but won’t likely make it a hat-trick this time around.

David Beckham (50/1)
Abandoned by the new regime, Becks could be the object of a few nostalgic votes. Do not write him off. He won it in 2003.

The players have one final chance to appeal for your votes when they face Holland in a friendly soccer match in Amsterdam on the November 15th. Check Sportingodds bookmaker to place a bet on your choice for the Professional Footballers’ Association Awards England Fans Player Of The Year. They are currently offering a Free £30 Bet on the Premiership. Click here to claim your free bet today